Improve configuration-related e2ee wording - #8165
Conversation
efc5683 to
1a8adf2
Compare
8d48a7d to
5d1e10d
Compare
|
@wrobelda regarding the end-to-end encryption and how it has to be enabled manually by the user |
|
Hello there, We hope that the review process is going smooth and is helpful for you. We want to ensure your pull request is reviewed to your satisfaction. If you have a moment, our community management team would very much appreciate your feedback on your experience with this PR review process. Your feedback is valuable to us as we continuously strive to improve our community developer experience. Please take a moment to complete our short survey by clicking on the following link: https://cloud.nextcloud.com/apps/forms/s/i9Ago4EQRZ7TWxjfmeEpPkf6 Thank you for contributing to Nextcloud and we hope to hear from you soon! (If you believe you should not receive this message, you can add yourself to the blocklist.) |
This refactors the code and updates the messages to use a consistent set of words that refer to the configuration of the e2ee. Signed-off-by: Dawid Wr贸bel <me@dawidwrobel.com>
I am a new user to Nextcloud. I would consider myself a power-user, but I got totally thrown under a bus by the e2e configuration AND the misleading wording in the UI. Specifically, the UI uses the "enabled", "supported", "activated", "set up", "start", "reset", etc. in an inconsequential, often interchangable way. It's all over the place and makes it really hard to understand what is going on in the UI, as well as in the code itself.
I also noticed the iOS client mixes the verbiage even more, by also using "activated" and "start":
I will file a separate PR for this once this one gets cleared for merging.
Moreover, even the code itself confuses the "enabled for account" with "set up for the device" :
disableEncryptionForAccountcallsAccountSettings::resetE2eEncryption(), which effectively makes the device "forget" the e2ee configuration and the mnemonic, but does not change anything on the account itself. In particular, it does not reset the encryption on the account itself, which is a destructive and irreversible action, availble in the web UI:As such, this PR establishes that:
Last, but not least, for the e2e to actually be enabled , a user needs to explicitly enable encryption on each subfolder in the synchronized root folder. This goes against all other common/popular software that supports e2e encryption, where you simply assume everything gets encrypted by default. As such, I am confident that the UI should lend itself to the user to help them understand that they need to take an additional, explicit action for their files to actually get encrypted, which is why after properly setting up the encryption, the message box in the Settings now reads
Remember to **Encrypt** a folder to end-to-end encrypt any new files added to it.