Skip to content

Files uploaded to the room are always read-only #18354

Description

@schiessle

Tested on c.nc.com

  1. user1 create a conversation with user2
  2. upload a file to the room
  3. login as user2
  4. The file is now located under Talk/user1-<random-string>/user1-user1

The folder Talk/user1-<random-string>/user1-user1 is read-only, so all files shared to the room are always read-only. There is no way to collaborate on the documents.

Only way to solve it:

  1. user1 goes now to Talk/user2-<random-string>/user1-user1
  2. user1 changes the share permission of the folder from read-only to read-write

I think nobody will find this and most people will expect that they can work on a document together after uploading it. If I share a existing file to a talk room it is also shared read-write.

Solution

  • we could use the permissions as defined in the admin share settings as default share permission
  • we could always share read-write because talk rooms are by nature about collaboration

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions