PSA: v1.15.0 Bug + Recovery Instructions #888
Closed
Andrew Benington Admin
announced in
Announcements
Replies: 0 comments
Sign up for free
to join this conversation on GitHub.
Already have an account?
Sign in to comment
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Unfortunately, v1.15.0 does not re-associate existing data when moving a Pokémon into and back out of a save. v1.15.1 is out now and fixes that bug.
Pokémon affected by the bug will look like they have lost data from previous saves. They have, but this data is recoverable. Follow these steps, making sure to read the instructions at the bottom to avoid data loss.
First, right click on the Pokémon affected by the bug. You should see an option to
Merge/Recover Tracking Data. Click on that.To make things simple, I will be referring to the bugged Pokémon data you just right clicked on as BROKEN DATA.
A dialog will show up with all OpenHome tracking data that could have been associated with the Pokémon:
Find the Pokémon's original data in the grid. Make sure to check for data with the correct Original Game, original trainer (OT), gender, etc. You can use the fields to filter the grid by nickname, known move, and/or origin game. Once you're sure, select that data to recover. I will be referring to the data you just selected as ORIGINAL DATA
What this does is the following
PLEASE NOTE: Because BROKEN DATA is deleted, it is vitally important that you do not ever go through this recovery process on a Pokémon that actually has its original data. If you had moved a Pokémon into and out of multiple games, you will have multiple copies of the data to recover. In this case make sure you merge with the original data last!
If you want to be really safe, make a backup of your OHPKM data folder. First navigate to the OpenHome data folder with
File -> Open Data Folder. The OHPKM folder is instorage/mons_v2.I apologize for this bug. I've added a test that should ensure this flag is not set before any future releases.
(and no, that flag should not be a manually updated source code constant in the first place. there is still a lot of technical debt like that)
All reactions